The Weigle lecture

The Weigle lecture illustration

The Weigle lecture honors the memory of Jean Weigle, who was instrumental for the development of Molecular Biology in Geneva (for more information, please read the page referring to the history of our Department). Almost every year, a well-respected scientist in the field of Molecular Biology, is invited to give the Weigle lecture and in doing so, to honor Jean Weigle.

34th Weigle Lecture - October 31, 2016 - Elena Conti

Elena Conti is very well known for her pioneering work on protein structures that have elucidated a wide spectrum of molecular mechanisms relating to nuclear import, mRNA decay, pre-mRNA splicing and mitosis. One of her recent achievements is the discovery of the mechanism by which the exosome can either completely degrade or partially trim RNA substrates.

Elena Conti pursued her PhD degree studies at the Imperial College in London under the guidance of Peter Brick and then postdoctoral studies at the Rockefeller University in New York under the guidance of John Kuriyan. After being a Group Leader at the EMBL in Heidelberg, she became Director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried and Professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich, Germany.

Elena Conti has received numerous prizes for her research, including the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine, the Hans Krebs Medal and the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize. She is an Elected Member of Academia Europaea, a Knight of the Italian National Order of Merit and a Member of the German Academy of Sciences.

Jean Weigle Lecturers

2015Prof. Joan A. Steitz[ ]
2014Prof. Titia de LANGE[ ]
2013Prof. Sir Paul NURSE[ ] Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2001
2012Prof. Robert ROEDER[ ]
2011Prof. Hans CLEVERS
2010Prof. Steven McKNIGHT
2009Prof. Kim NASMYTH[ ]
2002Prof. Ira HERSKOWITZ[ ]
2001Prof. Harry NOLLER[ ]
2001Prof. E. Peter GEIDUSCHEK
1999Prof. Gottfried SCHATZ[ ]
1998Prof. Elliot MEYEROWITZ[ ]
1996Prof. James E. DARNELL[ ]
1994Prof. Jack W. SZOSTAK[ ] Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2009
1994Prof. Thomas A. Steitz[ ]Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009
1991Prof. David LUCK
1990Prof. Franklin W. STAHL[ ]
1989Dr. Aaron KLUG[ ]Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1982
1988Prof. Bruce ALBERTS[ ]
1986Prof. Dale KAISER
1986Prof. David S. HOGNESS
1984Prof. Gunther STENT[ ]
1983Prof. Matthew MESELSON[ ]
1982Prof. Edouard KELLENBERGER
1981Prof. Francis H.C. CRICK[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1962
1980Dr. Sydney BRENNER[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2002
1978Prof. James D. WATSON[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1962
1977Prof. Werner ARBER[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1978
1974Prof. Niels K. JERNE[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1984
1973Prof. Seymour BENZER[ ]
1972Prof. François JACOB[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1965
1970Prof. Max DELBRÜCK[ ]Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1969
1969Dr. Robert EDGAR