English | Français

Department facilities

The Department is very proud of its communal facilities. These include:

  • an outstanding mechanical/electrical workshop, run by André Liani, Yves-Alain Poget, Marc Schneider and Georges Severi. This workshop not only maintains all departmental equipment, but is also extremely skillful in custom design and assembly of novel research devices
  • an equipment park for state of the art technologies (tissue culture facility, FACS analyzer, advanced molecular detection systems (e.g. phospho and fluoresence imager), Real-Time PCR)
  • a workshop for software development (web application, automated data processing tools) and scientific illustrations, run by Nicolas Roggli,
  • and a service for media preparation and dishwashing.

Technology platforms at UNIGE

The Genomics Platform headed by Mylène Docquier, provides advice and access to state-of-the-art methods in genomic technologies, including Next Generation Sequencing, Affymetrix and Illumina Microarray platforms for transcriptome, genomic and SNP profiling, the nCounter from nanoString Technologies for precise highly mutliplexed measures of RNA and a platform for robotic high throughput real-time PCR.

The Imaging Platform headed by Christoph Bauer, is equipped for state-of-the-art visual microscopy and electron microscopy. The platform also performs real-time microscopy of molecules in living cells, including technologies such as FRAP (fluorescence recovery after photobleaching), FLIP (fluorescence loss in photobleaching) and FRET (Fluorescence resonance energy transfer).

The Flow Cytometry Platform headed by Jean-Pierre Aubry has state-of-the-art flow cell sorters for high throughput cell sorting and single cell sorting.

The Transgenesis Platform headed by Prof. Pedro Herrera provides microinjection services.

The Histology Platform headed by Prof. Annelise Wohlwend provides tissue sectioning and staining services.

English | Français

Services communs

Le Département est très fier de son infrastructure et de ses services communs. Ceux-ci comprennent :

  • Un atelier mécanique d’une qualité exceptionnelle, dont les membres sont : André Liani, Yves-Alain Poget, Marc Schneider, Georges Severi. Non seulement l’atelier se charge de l’entretien de tout l’équipement du département, mais il est extrêmement habile dans la conception et la confection de pièces fabriquées sur commande et l’assemblage de nouveaux appareils scientifiques,
  • Un équipement de pointe (installation de culture de tissus, un «FACS analyzer», systèmes avancés de détection moléculaire (ex. imageur phospho et fluorescent), Real-Time PCR),
  • Un atelier de développement software (applications web, d'outils de traitement de données) ainsi que la réalisation d'illustrations scientifiques, dont s’occupe avec compétence Nicolas Roggli,
  • Un service de préparation de milieux et une cuisine.

Plateformes technologiques à l'UNIGE

La Plateforme Génomique dirigée par Mylène Docquier, offre un ensemble de prestations combinant conseils et accès aux technologies de pointe de la génomique telles que le séquençage à ultra haut débit ("Next Generation Sequencing"), les microarrays Affymetrix et Illumina pour les analyses de profils transcriptionels et le génotypage, le nCounter de nanoString Technologies pour des mesures précises hautement multiplexées d'ARN, et une plateforme robotisée pour la PCR en temps réel à haut débit.

La plateforme bio imaging dirigée par Christoph Bauer, est équipée pour conduire la plupart des méthodes modernes de microscopie, par exemple: la microscopie des protéines fluorescentes en temps réel dans les cellules vivantes, incluant des techniques comme FRAP (fluorescence recovery after photobleaching), FLIP (fluorescence loss in photobleaching) et FRET (fluorescence resonance energy transfer).

La plateforme de Cytométrie en flux dirigée par Jean-Pierre Aubry possède un système de trie cellulaire en flux de dernière génération permettant la séparation de cellules individuelles et en haut débit.

La plateforme de Transgenèse dirigée par Prof. Pedro Herrera propose des services de microinjection.

La plateforme d'Histologie dirigée par Prof. Annelise Wohlwend propose des services de coupe et de coloration de tissus.